The 2016 BAFTAs saw a night full of triumphs, moving speeches, and questionable quips…

The 69th BAFTA Awards, which took place last night at The Royal Opera House in London, saw triumph for The Revenant and it’s star Leonardo DiCaprio, some inspirational advice from Kate Winslet, and a few risqué jokes from host Stephen Fry and How to Be Single Actress Rebel Wilson. But all in all, the night was a success, adding to the growing excitement in the movie world in the lead up to the big one, the Oscars.

Risking hypothermia paid off for Leo as he triumphed in the Best Actor category for his outstanding performance in The Revenant, which also won Best Director for Alejandro G. Inarritu, and Best Picture, making it the big winner of the night.

EE BAFTA British Academy Film Awards, Press Room, Royal Opera House, London, Britain - 14 Feb 2016

Brie Larson took home the award for Best Actress for Room, while Best Supporting Actress went to Kate Winslet for Steve Jobs. Winslet gave an emotional and rousing acceptance speech, dedicating the award to teenage girls and revealing the horrible advice she was once given when a drama teacher told her she could only hope to get “fat girl parts”. Her powerful message received great admiration from fans and fellow actors alike.

Kate Winslet BAFTAS

The night was sprinkled with some scandalous humour too. The award for Costume Design went to Jenny Beavan for Mad Max: Fury Road, with Fry joking that Beavan, who was dressed rather casually, looked “like a bag lady”. After Fry received some heated backlash for the dubious joke, he explained that him and Beavan are in fact good friends and he clearly meant no harm. The risqué witticisms kept on rolling when Rebel Wilson took to the stage to present Best Supporting Actor. The hilarious actress dived right in, opening her speech with  “I have never been invited to the Oscars, because as you know they are racist. But the Baftas have diverse members, and that’s what we all want to see in life isn’t it, diverse members.” Things got a little spicy then when Wilson read out the list of nominees, saying to Idris Elba “You’re making me a bit nervous…but I’m just socially programmed to want chocolate on Valentine’s Day.”

Rebel Wilson BAFTAs

Other winners included John Crowley’s Brooklyn for Outstanding British Film, and John Boyega, a.k.a Finn in Star Wars: The Force Awakens, was bestowed with the EE Rising Star Award, voted for by the public.

For a full list of all nominees and winners please see below.

Best Film

The Big Short

Bridge of Spies


The Revenant – WINNER


Best Actor

Bryan Cranston, Trumbo

Matt Damon, The Martian

Leonardo DiCaprio, The Revenant – WINNER

Michael Fassbender, Steve Jobs

Eddie Redmayne, The Danish Girl

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett, Carol

Brie Larson, Room – WINNER

Saoirse Ronan, Brooklyn

Maggie Smith, The Lady in the Van

Alicia Vikander, The Danish Girl

Best Director

Todd Haynes, Carol

Alejandro G Iñárritu, The Revenant – WINNER

Adam McKay, The Big Short

Ridley Scott, The Martian

Steven Spielberg, Bridge of Spies

Best Supporting Actor

Christian Bale, The Big Short

Idris Elba, Beasts of No Nation

Benicio Del Toro, Sicario

Mark Ruffalo, Spotlight

Mark Rylance, Bridge of Spies – WINNER

Best Supporting Actress

Jennifer Jason Leigh, The Hateful Eight

Rooney Mara, Carol

Alicia Vikander, Ex Machina

Julie Walters, Brooklyn

Kate Winslet, Steve Jobs – WINNER

Outstanding British Film

45 Years


Brooklyn – WINNER

The Danish Girl

Ex Machina

The Lobster

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

Alex Garland, director, Ex Machina

Debbie Tucker Green, writer/director, Second Coming

Stephen Fingleton, writer/director, The Survivalist

Sean McAllister, director/producer, Elhum Shakerifar, producer, A Syrian Love Story

Naji Abu Nowar, writer/director, Rupert Lloyd, producer, Theeb – WINNER



Cartel Land

He Named Me Malala

Listen to Me Marlon


Animated Film

Inside Out – WINNER


Shaun the Sheep Movie

Film not in the English Language

The Assassin

Force Majeure



Wild Tales – WINNER

Original Screenplay

Bridge of Spies, Matthew Charman, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen

Ex Machina, Alex Garland

The Hateful Eight, Quentin Tarantino

Inside Out, Josh Cooley, Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve

Spotlight, Tom McCarthy, Josh Singer – WINNER

Adapted Screenplay

The Big Short, Adam McKay, Charles Randolph -WINNER

Brooklyn, Nick Hornby

Carol, Phyllis Nagy

Room, Emma Donoghue

Steve Jobs, Aaron Sorkin

Original Music

Thomas Newman, Bridge of Spies

Ennio Morricone, The Hateful Eight – WINNER

Ryuichi Sakamoto, Carsten Nicolai, The Revenant

Jóhann Jóhannsson, Sicario

John Williams, Star Wars: The Force Awakens


Janusz Kamiński, Bridge of Spies

Ed Lachman, Carol

John Seale, Mad Max: Fury Road

Emmanuel Lubezki, The Revenant – WINNER

Roger Deakins, Sicario


Hank Corwin, The Big Short

Michael Kahn, Bridge of Spies

Margaret Sixel, Mad Max: Fury Road – WINNER

Pietro Scalia, The Martian

Stephen Mirrione, The Revenant

Production Design

Adam Stockhausen, Rena DeAngelo, Bridge of Spies

Judy Becker, Heather Loeffler, Carol

Colin Gibson, Lisa Thompson, Mad Max: Fury Road – WINNER

Arthur Max, Celia Bobak, The Martian

Rick Carter, Darren Gilford, Lee Sandales, Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Costume Design

Odile Dicks-Mireaux, Brooklyn

Sandy Powell, Carol

Sandy Powell, Cinderella

 Paco Delgado, The Danish Girl

Jenny Beavan, Mad Max: Fury Road – WINNER

Make-up and Hair

Morna Ferguson, Lorraine Glynn, Brooklyn

Jerry DeCarlo, Patricia Regan, Carol

Jan Sewell, The Danish Girl

Lesley Vanderwalt, Damian Martin. Mad Max: Fury Road – WINNER

Sian Grigg, Duncan Jarman, Robert Pandini, The Revenant


Drew Kunin, Richard Hymns, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom, Bridge of Spies

Scott Hecker, Chris Jenkins, Mark Mangini, Ben Osmo, Gregg Rudloff, David White, Mad Max: Fury Road

Paul Massey, Mac Ruth, Oliver Tarney, Mark Taylor, The Martian

Lon Bender, Chris Duesterdiek, Martin Hernandez, Frank A. Montaño, Jon Taylor, Randy Thom, The Revenant – WINNER

David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Matthew Wood, Stuart Wilson, Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Special Visual Effects

Ant-Man, Jake Morrison, Greg Steele, Dan Sudick, Alex Wuttke

Ex Machina, Mark Ardington, Sara Bennett, Paul Norris, Andrew Whitehurst

Mad Max: Fury Road, Andrew Jackson, Dan Oliver, Tom Wood, Andy Williams

The Martian, Chris Lawrence, Tim Ledbury, Richard Stammers, Steven Warner

Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Chris Corbould, Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, Neal Scanlan – WINNER

British Short Animation

Edmond, Nina Gantz, Emilie Jouffroy – WINNER

Manoman, Simon Cartwright, Kamilla Kristiane Hodol

Prologue, Richard Williams, Imogen Sutton

British Short Film

Elephant, Nick Helm, Alex Moody, Esther Smith

Mining Poems or Odes, Callum Rice, Jack Cocker

Operator, Caroline Bartleet, Rebecca Morgan – WINNER

Over, Jörn Threlfall, Jeremy Bannister

Samuel-613 Billy Lumby, Cheyenne Conway

The EE Rising Star Award (voted for by the public)

Bel Powley

Brie Larson

Dakota Johnson

John Boyega – WINNER

Taron Egerton